The EMC’s Board of Trustees is its main governing body. It sets the charity`s strategic aims and makes sure funds are spent wisely. Each of our trustees has made an outstanding contribution to the field of education, journalism or research:

Fran Abrams – Trustee

Fran is an education journalist and author who has worked for many organisations including the Sunday Times, the Independent and the BBC, where she regularly presented File on Four. Fran was the Chief Executive of EMC from 2016 – 2021 and is currently a Managing Trustee.

Professor Rose Luckin – Trustee

Rose is Chair of Learner Centred Design at the UCL Knowledge Lab. She has been developing and writing about the learning sciences, educational technology and Artificial Intelligence in education for over 20 years and is director of EDUCATE, a London hub for Educational Technology Start Ups, researchers and educators.

Dr Andrew Morris – Chair

Andrew is an education consultant and honorary associate professor at the UCL Institute of Education, specialising in the use of evidence across research, policy and practice. He was formerly Director of the National Educational Research Forum (NERF) in England and Director of Development at City and Islington College.

Ian Nash – Trustee

Ian is an independent education journalist and media consultant focussing on Further and Adult Education. He was formerly Assistant Editor at the Times Education Supplement, where he created FE Focus.

Professor Sir Peter Scott – Trustee

Peter is currently Professor of Higher Education Studies at the UCL Institute of Education, University of London. As a specialist in higher education he was previously editor of the Times Higher Education Supplement (THES) and subsequently Vice Chancellor of Kingston University.

Jessica Shepherd – Trustee

Jessica is an education communications and PR specialist who works across the sector with Multi-Academy Trusts, universities, education companies and more. She is The Guardian’s former Education Correspondent.

Jim Turner – Treasurer

Jim is a qualified accountant and treasurer. Since 2018 Jim has been a governor for a health sector charity.

Professor Samantha Twiselton, OBE – Trustee

Sam is the Director of Sheffield Institute of Education at Sheffield Hallam University where she specialises in teacher education and curriculum development. Sam is a Vice President to the Chartered College of Teaching and has been involved in influencing Government policy on teacher education.

Steve Whitley – Trustee

Steve has worked for several decades in EdTech, within local education authorities, commercial organisations and ultimately with his own company EdTech Consulting. He was previously Commercial Director of the  British Education Suppliers Association and is a managing trustee at EMC. 

Caroline Wright – Trustee

Caroline is Director General of BESA, the British Educational Suppliers Association and serves on a range of Government and sector advisory boards. She is a school governor in London and is a motivational speaker for schools and young people.

Our Patrons

Andrew AdonisLabour Peer
Former education minister
John DunfordFormer General Secretary of ASCL
Greg DykeFormer Director-General of the BBC
Judith JuddFormer editor of TES and
Education Editor of the Independent
Sue LittlemoreFormer CEO EMC and
BBC education correspondent
Estelle MorrisFounding Patron. Labour Peer
Former Secretary of State for Education
Nick PearceProfessor, Director, Institute for Policy Research,
University of Bath
David PuttnamLabour peer
Film Producer, Chairman of Atticus Education
Andreas SchleicherDirector for Education and Skills, OECD
Gillian ShephardConservative Peer
Former Secretary of State for Education
Phil WillisLiberal Democrat Peer
Chair, National Plan for Sport and Recreation


Wendy BerlinerWriter, Author & Journalist
Sir Jon ColesCEO, United Learning
Professor Joelle FanghanelPro Vice-Chancellor, University of West London
Jonathan HaslamDirector, Institute for Effective Education
Professor Steve HigginsProfessor of Education, Durham University
Dame Alison PeacockCEO, Chartered College of Teaching
Professor Judy SebbaProfessor of Education, Rees Centre,
University of Oxford
Professor Anna VignolesProfessor of Education, University of Cambridge
Dr Emma WisbyHead of Policy and Public Affairs,
UCL Institute of Education

Contact EMC

Address19 Waterloo Park, Station Road, Leiston, Suffolk. IP16 4GW UK
Telephone+44 (0) 7939 262 001